News

GREEN LIFESTYLE MAGAZINE'S AWARDS RECOGNISE ECO-LEADERS,
BOB BROWN INDUCTED INTO HALL OF FAME

14th September 2012

Green LifestyleGreen Lifestyle magazine's inaugural Green Lifestyle Awards 2012 were held in Sydney on Wednesday night, recognising over 60 leading companies and personalities in the green industry.

Special guest, former Greens leader, Bob Brown accepted his award for the Hall of Fame for his impressive impact on mobilising change. Brown gave a gracious speech, honouring all those who were recognised in the Awards.

"I congratulate all of you that are involved in your various ways in raising the green bar, in raising real-world sustainability, it has to be genuine to an authenticity which we can feel strongly about." said Brown. "We have a long way to go, and I think tonight is a sterling example of a community on the move and I hope events like this will become the predominant thinking in our society in decades ahead. Thank you all for this award, I share it with very many people of course, we are a community."

Over 150 people attended the event at Sun Studios in Alexandria, Sydney, including winners and highly commended for all areas covering food, fashion, beauty, garden, home, kids, wellbeing, travel, transport, online and business.

The editor of Green Lifestyle magazine, Emma Bowen, said, "In keeping with Green Lifestyle magazine's knowledge and reputation in Australia's green sector, we introduced these awards to give recognition to the wonderful companies and people who are leading the charge toward a cleaner and greener living environment.

"These awards were a great opportunity to sit down with some really great minds in the industry and wade through the greenwash to come up with a list of the very best in innovation and change in the green industry. These are the people who are taking the positive and genuine step of working toward green becoming the norm."

Green Lifestyle magazine, has relaunched with this issue, which was formerly Australia's long-loved and leading green publication, G magazine. Carbon offset and produced on recycled paper, Green Lifestyle is the winner of 14 awards. We are an essential guide to living simply and sustainably, offering positive, encouraging advice and inspiration for leading a green lifestyle. Green Lifestyle is published by nextmedia.

The winners and highly commended in each category are listed below and are featured in the Oct/Nov issue of Green Lifestyle, on sale 17 September.

For further information and interview please contact:
Emma Bowen, Editor at Green Lifestyle (02) 9901 6123 / ebowen@nextmedia.com.au

 

WINNERS OF THE GREEN LIFESTYLE AWARDS 2012

FOOD:
Company
Winner – Food Connect, www.foodconnect.com.au
Highly Commended – CERES Community Environment Park, www.ceres.org.au
Product
Winner – Bills organic bread, www.billsorganic.com.au
Highly Commended – Honest to Goodness, www.goodness.com.au
Restaurant
Winner – Silo by Joost, www.byjoost.com/silo
Highly Commended – Bliss Organic Café, www.blissorganiccafe.com.au
Winery/Brewery
Winner – Temple Bruer, www.templebruer.com.au
Highly Commended – Mountain Goat Brewery, www.goatbeer.com.au and Burragumbilli Beer, www.burragumbilli.com.au

HOME:
Company
Winner – Ecostore, www.ecostoreaustralia.com.au
Highly Commended – Australian Living, www.australianliving.com.au
Product
Winner – Bio Paint, www.bioproducts.com.au
Highly Commended – Sindhiya Soapnuts, www.soapnutssindhiya.com.au
Energy Saving
Winner – Ecoswitch, www.ecoswitch.com.au
Highly Commended – Panasonic Econavi, www.panasonic.com.au
Water Saving
Winner – Every Drop Shower Saver, www.showersaver.com.au
Highly Commended – Caroma, www.caroma.com.au

GARDEN:
Company
Winner – Milkwood Permaculture, www.milkwoodpermaculture.com.au
Highly Commended – Landshare Australia, www.landshareaustralia.com.au
Product
Winner – Charlie Carp, www.charliecarp.com
Highly Commended – Bokashi buckets, www.bokashi.com.au
Community Group
Winner – Grow It Local, www.growitlocal.com.au
Highly Commended – Smart Garden Program, www.mysmartgarden.org.au

BEAUTY/FASHION:
Beauty Company
Winner – Miessence, www.mionegroup.com
Highly Commended – Pure and Green, www.pureandgreenorganics.com.au
Beauty Product
Winner – Ere Perez almond oil mascara, www.ereperez.com
Highly Commended – Trilogy organic rosehip oil, www.trilogyproducts.com
Fashion Company
Winner – Kowtow Clothing, www.kowtowclothing.com
Highly Commended – Bird Textiles, www.birdtextile.com.au

WELLBEING:
Company
Winner – Weleda, www.weleda.com.au
Highly Commended – Healthy Interiors, www.healthyinteriors.com.au
Product
Winner – TOM Organic, www.tomorganic.com.au
Highly Commended – The Environmental Toothbrush, www.environmentaltoothbrush.com.au

TRAVEL:
Company
Winner – Intrepid Travel, www.intrepidtravel.com.au
Highly Commended – Earthwatch Institute, www.earthwatch.org
Hotel/Resort
Winner – Bombah Point Eco Cottages, www.bombah.com.au
Highly Commended – Emirates Wolgan Valley Resort & Spa, www.wolganvalley.com.au

KIDS:
Company
Winner – Gardening 4 Kids, www.gardening4 kids.com.au
Highly Commended – Whole Kids, www.wholekids.com.au
Product
Winner – Wishbone bike, www.wishbonedesign.com
Highly Commended – Jinta sports balls, www.jintasport.com.au

ONLINE:
Eco Info Site
Winner – Local Harvest, www.localharvest.org.au
Highly Commended – Sustainable Seafood Guide, www.sustainableseafood.org.au
Eco Shopping Site
Winner – Biome, www.biome.com.au
Highly Commended – Naturally Gifted, www.naturallygifted.com.au

CARS:
Company
Winner – Go Get, www.goget.com.au
Highly Commended – Green Tomato Cars, www.greentomatocars.com.au
New Car
Winner – Mitsubishi i-Miev, www.mitsubishi-motors.com.au
Highly Commended – Nissan Leaf, www.nissan.com.au, and Toyota Prius Hybrid, www.toyota.com.au

BUSINESS:
Large
Winner – Macquarie Universite, www.mq.edu.au/sustainability
Highly Commended – Bosch, www.bosch.com.au
Small
Winner – Open Shed, www.openshed.com.au
Highly Commended – Green Moves, www.greenmoves.com.au
Not-for-profit
Winner – Conservation volunteers Australia, www.conservationvolunteers.com.au
Highly Commended – Beyond Zero Emissions, www.beyondzeroemissions.org
Recycling
Winner – The Clothing Exchange, www.clothingexchange.com.au
Highly Commended – Buy Nothing New Month, www.buynothingnew.com.au

READER'S CHOICE:
Winner – Orange Power, www.orangepower.com.au

PEOPLE:
Hall of Fame
Winner – Bob Brown, www.bobbrown.org.au

Local Green Hero
Winner – Belinda Bean
Highly Commended – Krista Bernard (posthumous), www.ridehimalaya.com

Junior Green Hero
Winner – Thomas King, www.saynotopalmoil.com
Highly Commended – Parrys Raines, www.climategirl.com.au