News

GREEN LIFESTYLE MAGAZINE'S AWARDS RECOGNISE ECO-LEADERS
OLIVIA NEWTON-JOHN INDUCTED INTO HALL OF FAME

10 October 2013

Green Lifestyle magazine’s second annual Green Lifestyle Awards 2013 were held in Sydney last night, recognising over 60 leading companies and personalities in the green industry.

Former Greens leader, Bob Brown, who was inducted into the Green Lifestyle Hall of Fame last year, graciously hand ed on the honour to Olivia Newton-John for her championing of important causes from unethical fishing practices and stopping clear-fell logging of forests in Tasmania, to the impact of coal seam gas mining on water in Queensland.

Newton-John, who is currently overseas, said in a video acceptance speech last night that is now available on the Green Lifestyle website, that, “I’d like to say how very honoured I am to receive the Green Lifestyle Hall of Fame Award. It was totally unexpected and I’m very honoured to receive it.”

“I’d like to send my congratulations to all the nominees who have done wonderful things for the environment. I really believe that each one of us can make a difference – as all of you have,” said Newton-John.

Brown commended Olivia for her efforts, “It was in the Styx Valley of the Giants, which has the tallest flowering trees on Earth, that I met our inspiring Australian eco-patriot, Olivia Newton-John who was also there campaigning for a national park and World Heritage listing. So my thanks to Green Lifestyle and congratulations to Olivia as she enters the Green Lifestyle Awards Hall of Fame. So well deserved!"

Reflecting on the last year’s achievements and happenings, Brown’s telegram was read to the captive audience last night. “My last year began with the wonderful surprise of the Green Lifestyle Hall of Fame Award and has been full of excitement. I led Sea Shepherd's successful campaign visit to the Kimberley coast to ward off a mega gas factory. I have become Patron of the feisty Save the Tarkine campaign. And how about World Heritage listing for Tasmania's tall forests, even though the Abbott government now wants logging back!”

Over 120 people attended the event at Sun Studios in Alexandria, Sydney, including winners and highly commended for all areas covering food, fashion, beauty, garden, home, kids, wellbeing, travel, transport, online and business.

The editor of Green Lifestyle magazine, Lesley Lopes, said, “We started the Green Lifestyle Awards to recognise dedication on the part of individuals, companies and non-government organisations in contributing to a more sustainable Australia. It seems more and more of you are making conscious decisions about the things you buy and where you find information about all things green as we had twice as many nominations as for our inaugural awards last year.”

The winners and highly commended in each category are listed below and are featured in the Nov/Dec issue of Green Lifestyle, on sale 18 October.

The Green Lifestyle Awards would not have been possible without the help of the major sponsors: Fuente, Probiotic Solutions, Ecostore, and Community First Credit Union.

Green Lifestyle magazine is Australia’s most long-loved and leading green publication. Carbon offset and produced on accredited, recycled paper, Green Lifestyle is the winner of 14 awards. We are an essential guide to simple sustainable living, offering encouraging advice and inspiration for leading a greener lifestyle. Green Lifestyle is published by nextmedia.

For high resolution images of the night, visit our dropbox: www.dropbox.com.au/GreenLifestyleAwards2013

For further information and interview please contact:

Lesley Lopes, Editor at Green Lifestyle (02) 9901 6123 / llopes@greenlifestylemag.com.au

Caitlin Howlett, Deputy and online editor at Green Lifestyle (02) 9901 6300 / chowlett@greenlifestylemag.com.au

WINNERS OF THE GREEN LIFESTYLE AWARDS 2013

FOOD:
Product
Winner – República Coffee, www.republicacoffee.com.au
Highly Commended – Spoon’s Vegetarian Butcher – sausages, www.facebook.com/SuzySpoonsVegetarianButcher
Restaurant
Winner – About Life, www.aboutlife.com.au
Highly Commended – Goodness Me Organics, www.goodnessmeorganics.com.au
Company
Winner – Fry’s Family Products, www.frysvegetarian.co.za
Highly Commended – Local Organics, www.localorg.com.au

HOME:
Company
Winner – eTool, www.etool.net.au
Highly Commended – SodaStream, www.sodastream.com.au

Product
Winner – ecostore – cleaning products, www.ecostore.com.au
Highly Commended – Onya Weigh bags, www.onyainnovations.com.au

Energy Saving
Winner – LiFEHOUSE Design, www.lifehousedesign.com.au
Highly Commended – Ventis, www.ventis.com.au

Water Saving
Highly Commended – Every Drop Shower Saver, www.showersaver.com.au
Winner – Caroma, www.caroma.com.au

BEAUTY/FASHION:
Beauty Company
Winner – Phytocare, www.phytocare.com.au
Highly Commended – Weleda, www.weleda.com.au

Beauty Product
Winner – Mokosh rich face cream, www.mokosh.com.au
Highly Commended – Sukin Sensitive range, www.sukinorganics.com

Fashion Company
Winner – 3Fish, www.3fish.com.au
Highly Commended – Rant Clothing, www.rantclothing.com.au

Fashion Product
Winner – Pure Pod, www.purepod.com.au
Highly Commended – Bhalo, www.bhalo.com

TRAVEL:

Company
Winner – Ecotourism Australia, www.ecotourism.org.au
Highly Commended – Raw Wildlife Encounters, www.rawildlife.com.au

Hotel/Resort
Winner – Paperbark Camp, Jervis Bay, NSW. www.paperbarkcamp.com.au
Highly Commended – Bay of Fires Lodge, Tasmania, www.bayoffires.com.au

GARDEN:

Company
Winner – Seed It Up, www.seed.seeditup.com.au
Highly Commended – Green Gecko Studios, www.greengeckostudios.com.au

Product
Winner – Aerobin compost bin, www.aerobin400.com
Highly Commended – Eden Seeds, www.edenseeds.com.au

Community Group
Winner – Edible Yards, www.edibleyards.com.au
Highly Commended – Wayside Chapel’s rooftop vegie garden, www.thewaysidechapel.com

WELLBEING:

Company
Winner – Ventis, www.ventis.com.au
Highly Commended – Juju, www.juju.com.au

Product
Winner – Juju, www.juju.com.au
Highly Commended – The Environmental Toothbrush, www.gogreenathome.com.au

KIDS:
Company
Winner – Mememe Productions – DIRTGIRLWORLD, www.mememe.com.au and www.dirtgirlworld.com
Highly Commended – Darlings Downunder, www.darlingsdownunder.com.au

Product
Winner – Maud N Lil organic cotton soft toys, www.maudnlil.com.au
Highly Commended – One Colour woven kids toys, www.onecolour.com.au

ONLINE:
Eco Info Site
Winner – Green It Yourself (GIY), www.greenityourself.org.au
Highly Commended – The Greening of Gavin, www.greeningofgavin.com

Eco Shopping Site
Winner – State of Green, www.stateofgreen.com.au
Highly Commended – Tree Hugga, www.treehugga.com.au

TRANSPORT:
Company
Winner – GoGet car share, www.goget.com.au
Highly Commended – CityCycle Bike Hire in Brisbane + Melbourne Bike Share,
www.brisbane.qld.gov.au and www.melbournebikeshare.com.au

BUSINESS:
Large
Winner – Australian Ethical, www.australianethical.com.au
Highly Commended – ecostore, www.ecostore.com.au

Small
Winner – Positive Footprints, www.positivefootprints.com.au
Highly Commended – Bulk Whole Food, www.bulkwholefood.com.au

Not-for-profit
Winner – Smart Living Ballarat, www.smartlivingballarat.org.au
Highly Commended – Alfalfa House, www.alfalfahouse.org

Recycling Initiative
Winner – Rubbish… Handle with care! – Clarence Valley Council with DIRTGIRL, www.dirtgirlworld.com
Highly Commended – Reverse Garbage, www.reversegarbage.org.au

READER’S CHOICE:
Winner – Honest To Goodness, www.goodness.com.au

PEOPLE:

Hall of Fame
Winner – Olivia Newton-John, www.olivianewton-john.com

Local Green Hero
Winner – Gavin Webber, www.greeningofgavin.com
Highly Commended – Aimee Silla, www.animals.uwa.edu.au/research/postgrads